Britain leaves the European Union

Q: The United Kingdom (UK) officially left the European Union (EU) last Friday in Brexit (a word blending “Britain” and “exit”). But, Britain remains subject to EU laws and part of the EU customs union and European Single Market until it works out a final deal with the remaining 27 nations of the EU. Where is the UK?

Circle the area on this map

Q: The UK and EU have set a deadline of Dec. 31 to reach a final separation agreement. One area of potential disagreement is the British border with which nation?

A. France

B. Ireland

C. Norway

D. Spain

Q: In a 2016 referendum, 52 percent of the entire UK electorate voted for Brexit. But, a majority of voters in some regions or countries of the UK wanted to remain. Which of the UK countries voted against independence in 2014?

A. England

B. Northern Ireland

C. Scotland

D. Wales

Q: After World War II, six European nations set up a customs union, hoping that increasing trade would help avoid future conflicts on the continent. Which of these nations was NOT part of that common market the evolved into the EU?

A. Belgium

B. France

C. Italy


Q: The EU now is a political union with a single market, common citizenship, a parliament and system of laws. It has government bodies in several nations and no official capital. But, the “de facto” capital of Brussels is in which country?

A. Belgium

B. France

C. Germany

D. Italy

Answers for this quiz: Click here