What is the role of NATO?

Q: The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) is an alliance of the United States, Canada and 28 European nations who have agreed to defend each other in response to an attack by any external party. Its headquarters is in Brussels, Belgium. Where is Belgium?

Circle the area on this map

Q: NATO was formed in 1949 by the United States, Canada and 10 European nations worried about the expanding power of the Soviet Union, and it added member nations over the years. How many nations have joined the alliance since the Soviet Union dissolved in 1991?

A. 6

B. 10

C. 14

D. 18

Q: Ukraine is not a member of NATO, and the alliance is not sending forces to fight the Russian invasion. Ukraine is one of 15 nations that were once republics of the Soviet Union. Are any of these nations now members of NATO?

A. Yes

B. No

Q: After the creation of NATO, the Soviet Union formed its own military alliance. It was named after the capital of which nation that is now a member of NATO?

A. Albania

B. Hungary

C. Poland

D. Romania

Q: While all members of NATO are in North America and Europe, which NATO nation is mostly in Asia?

A. Albania

B. Greece

C. Romania

D. Turkey

Answers for this quiz: Click here